top of page

AGLEAGUE Awards ominees announced

AGLEAGUE Awards 2019

The UAE Pro League has announced the preliminary shortlist of nominees for eight Arabian Gulf League Awards categories. Voting for the nominees starts on Sunday, May 5 and closes on the 10th of the month. A three-man shortlist based on the voting will be announced on May 11 and the winners will be announced in the Arabian Gulf League Awards ceremony on May 17.

Voting for six categories will be available through the website with participation of football experts, club captains and coaches, media and fans to select five nominees from each category.

The preliminary shortlist for the Golden Ball Award (Best Emirati Player) includes; Ali Mabkhout and Khalfan Mubarak from Al Jazira, Shaheen Abdulrahman, Majed Suroor and Saif Rashid from Sharjah, Ahmed Khalil and Majed Hassan from Shabab Al Ahli, Youssef Jaber from Bani Yas, Suhail Al Mansoori from Al Dhafra; and Yaqoub Al Bloushi from Ittihad Kalba.

Competing on the Golden Ball Award for (Best Foreign Player) are; Igor Coronado, Welliton Soares, Ryan Mendes and Otabek Shukurov from Sharjah, Leonardo da Silva Souza and Sebastian Tagliabue from Al Wahda, Alvaro Negredo from Al Nasr, Pedro Conde from Bani Yas; Balazs Dzsudzsak from Ittihad Kalba and Tsukasa Shiotani from Al Ain.

The shortlist for the Leader Award for (Best Coach) includes; Abdulaziz Al Anbari from Sharjah, Rodolfo Arruabarrena from Shabab Al Ahli, Ayman El Ramadi from Ajman, Vuk Rasovic from Al Dhafra; and Krunoslav Jurcic from Bani Yas.

The Golden Boy Award for (Best Young Player, born on or after 1998) is contested between Mansour Al Harbi, Tahnoun Al Zaabi and Majed Abdullah from Al Wahda, Abdulaziz Salem Al Kaabi and Saood Abdulrazzaq from Shabab Al Ahli, Eisa Al Otaiba and Majed Rashid from Ittihad Kalba, Ali Saleh from Al Wasl, Khalifa Mubarak Al Hammadi from Al Jazira, and Mohammed Khalfan from Al Ain.

Five goalkeepers compete for the Golden Glove Award for (Best Goalkeeper); Khaled Eisa from Al Ain, Mohammed Al Shamsi from Al Wahda, Adel Al Hosani from Sharjah, Ali Al Hosani from Ajman and Fahd Al Dhanhani from Bani Yas.

The nominees for these five categories were selected based on choices from the selection committee alongside with statistics by Sportradar, the statistics partner of the Pro League Committee. Players performances were evaluated based on specific criteria including position, goals scored, passing accuracy, assists, saves and fair play (disciplinary record) and technical evaluation from the selection committee.

Finally, 12 digital platforms compete for the new category, Best Digital Sport Platform, all of which were evaluated in the first phase before the online voting decides which platforms will be in the final list. These platforms are: 24 Media, Al Ain Sports Platform, Hamdaniya Channel, AELeague, Yallah Selfie, Sport 4 All, UAE Soccer (Hadath Al Riyada), Action News, Mercato, UAE Kick, UAE Football; and UAE.Goals.

The nominees for the Fans' Player of the Year, Goal of the Year Awards will be chosen based on fans nominations through the Pro League’s official accounts on Social Media between 5 and 8 of May.

The Arabian Gulf League Awards are divided into two sections; the vote-based awards which include the aforementioned eight categories, and the stats-based awards which include; the Dream Team - the Best XI of players who excelled in their positions, the Golden Shoe Award for the Arabian Gulf League top goalscorer, the Silver Shoe Award for the Arabian Gulf Reserve League top goalscorer, the Arabian Gulf League Fantasy Manager of the Season, the Club Licensing Award and the Online Content Award.

#Agleague #ArabianGulfLeague #UAE


RSS Feed



Join our family

Never miss an update from

bottom of page