AFC Champions League 2017 Matchday 6; Preview group A,B


AFC Champions League MD6

Group A

All four teams remain in the hunt for qualification spots in Group A as table-toppers Al Ahli of the United Arab Emirates host Lokomotiv and second-placed Esteghlal face Al Taawoun with the top two needing just a point to progress.

Al Ahli sit three points ahead of Lokomitiv but, following defeat to the Uzbek side on Matchday Two, a second successive loss to Tuesday’s visitors would leave Lokomotiv with a better head-to-head record and the hosts’ qualification hopes dependent on the result between Al Taawoun and Esteghlal.

Three points also separate Esteghlal from Al Taawoun but the Saudi team must win by four goals in order to ensure the better head-to-head record over their Iranian opponents as a nerve-wracking finale looms in Group A with the potential of all four teams ending up on eight points.

Al Ahli (UAE) v Lokomotiv (UZB) Venue: Rashid Stadium, Dubai Kick-off: May 9, 19:50 UTC+4

Al Taawoun (KSA) v Esteghlal (IRN) Venue: Al Ahli SC Stadium, Doha Kick-off: May 9 18:50 UTC+3

Group B

Second place is up for grabs in Group B as Esteghlal Khouzestan host eliminated Al Jazira and Al Fateh travel to table-toppers Lekhwiya on Tuesday.

Esteghlal Khouzestan sit two points above Al Fateh but, thanks to a superior head-to-head record, need just a point at home to bottom side Al Jazira to advance to the Round of 16 at the first time of asking.

Lekhwiya can breathe easy, though, after their 3-1 win at Al Jazira on Matchday Five guaranteed top spot, but Al Fateh will be desperate to deal their opponents a first defeat of the campaign and give themselves a chance of pipping Esteghlal Khouzestan at the death.

Esteghlal Khouzestan (IRN) v Al Jazira (UAE) Venue: Ghadir Stadium, Ahwaz Kick-off: May 9, 20:00 UTC+4:30

Lekhwiya (QAT) v Al Fateh (KSA) Venue: Abdullah Bin Khalifa Stadium, Doha Kick-off: May 9, 18:30 UTC+3

Check more here

#AFC #AFCChampionsLeague #KSA #UAE #Qatar